Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #19: Blackbird Fly by Erin Entrada Kelly

http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/
 Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spinewhich spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating!

BLACKBIRD FLY
by

Genre/s: Young Adult/Middle Grade - Contemporary, Cultural
Expected Publication: March 24th 2015 by Greenwillow Books
GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:
Future rock star, or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this debut tween novel, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers and following her dreams. For fans of Wendy Mass and Wendelin Van Draanen.

Apple has always felt a little different from her classmates. She and her mother moved to Louisiana from the Philippines when she was little, and her mother still cooks Filipino foods, makes mistakes with her English, and chastises Apple for becoming “too American.” It becomes unbearable in middle school, when the boys—the stupid, stupid boys—in Apple’s class put her name on the Dog Log, the list of the most unpopular girls in school. When Apple’s friends turn on her and everything about her life starts to seem weird and embarrassing, Apple turns to music. If she can just save enough to buy a guitar and learn to play, maybe she can change herself. It might be the music that saves her . . . or it might be her two new friends, who show how special she really is. Erin Entrada Kelly deftly brings Apple’s conflicted emotions to the page in her debut novel about family, friendship, popularity, and going your own way.

Add Blackbird Fly to your TBR shelf on Goodreads!

Plus don't forget to pre-order
Blackbird Fly via Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

 WHY?

This another debut novel to look out for. The synopsis sounds really promising. Blackbird Fly is the kind of novel I would read and devour. My awesome senses were tingling the first I saw this book over at Twitter. Bonus points = the main character is Filipina + the author is Filipina too! Awesome, dude. AWESOME.

Troglodyte forever,

What book(s) are you eagerly anticipating? Let us know in the comment section below!

6 comments:

  1. Sounds like a really cute and adorable Middle Grade! Great pick ladies!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh I like the sound of this one! I've been looking for a good MG book to read. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I seldom read middle grade but this one sounds interesting. And yes, plus points because the main and the author are Filipinos. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I don't think I read the synopsis for this before now, because I would have been all over this! I assume the title is a reference to the Beatles, which is awesome, and it sounds like this could be so good. Great pick!!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. AWWW! That is a cute cover and what the what! The author is a Filipina and it's so rare to have a protagonist that is a Filipina!!! <3

    ReplyDelete
  6. I like that this is about music and the cover is so cute and colourful! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete

We love getting comments from all of you, dear Trogs. :)

 
SITE DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS